top of page

Whitesnake Album Featuring Guy Pratt Remixed, Remastered; Set for a US Release

Restless Heart, a project that began as a solo David Coverdale album, will be released in its new form on October 29th, 2021.

In some respects, Whitesnake's Restless Heart resembles Pink Floyd's A Momentary Lapse of Reason - it's the story of two Davids: Coverdale and Gilmour. Both efforts began as solo projects for these respective band leaders but a combination of business, political, and artistic forces eventually landed each under the banner and brand of the bands that had commanded the greatest successes for each.

Both albums marked different turning points for each artist, however: Restless Heart was generally considered Whitesnake's denouement (until the band's successful reboot, which hasn't abated since 2003) while A Momentary Lapse of Reason marked a new, final phase for Pink Floyd, launching them into their longest era and culminating in 2014.

One key but often overlooked commonality shared by the two bands: Guy Pratt.

Pratt had worked with David Coverdale on the Coverdale-Page tour in 1993 and then joined Coverdale for the recording of Restless Heart, which was originally meant to be a solo album but was released under the Whitesnake banner due to record label pressure. You can read about Pratt's experiences with Coverdale in My Bass and Other Animals. Pratt has also worked, of course, with Pink Floyd and David Gilmour (in their active periods) since 1987.

Restless Heart was never released in the United States and received mixed reviews - largely because it departed from the trajectory of Whitesnake's sound evolution, which peaked successfully and in terms of its hue between 1987 and 1989.

This upcoming reissue will put the album on the United States market for the first time and includes two remixes: one that better reflects Coverdale's original vision for this project as a solo album as well as an updated one that probably fits better, sonically, between the 1987/1989 era and its continuation in 2003. That latter version adds two musicians: guitarist Joel Hoekstra and keyboardist Derek Sherinian. Both albums feature the original musicians: Coverdale, Pratt, guitarist Adrian Vandenberg, and drummer Denny Carmassi.

The video for All in the Name of Love features some minor footage of Pratt, as well as Tony Franklin, who would actually replace him for the project's promotional tour.

You can read more about the Restless Heart re-issue here and about Guy Pratt's current projects here and you can order My Bass and Other Animals here.



bottom of page