top of page

The McBroom Sisters Release Debut Album: 'Black Floyd'

The McBroom Sisters have embarked on a new project: on July 4th they released their new album, "Black Floyd, 'titled to honor the roots of Rock and Roll.'"

"The McBroom Sisters are Durga McBroom and Lorelei McBroom, former backing vocalists for the legendary Pink Floyd," (both on the A Momentary Lapse of Reason tour and the former also on The Division Bell Tour). The sisters "sing both lead and backing vocals on a combination of classic Pink Floyd covers and their own original songs." The songs are co-written by an incredibly diverse set of musicians including "Jon Carin, Guy Pratt, Lemmy Kilmister, Paul Litteral, Dave Kerzner, and more."

On July 3rd, The McBroom Sisters premiered the album through an online event featuring many of the album's contributors.

In a press release, The McBroom Sisters stated that the effort is meant to "honor the roots of Rock and Roll by bringing the music they grew up on full circle." The release adds: "As African American vocalists in this time of social awakening, the McBroom Sisters offer a timely blend of lyrical substance and authentic soulful takes on their unique blend of musical styles."

You can order access to the recording of the online premiere event here and order the album in different formats here. For more information on The McBroom Sisters, visit



bottom of page